Cover for the new novel Looking for the King by David C. Downing

Available as
Hardcover, E-Book, or Audio Download


This superbly gripping novel about dreams coming true is itself a dream come true. Lewis and Tolkien come alive as real-life characters, playing their sagacious parts to realistic perfection as the protagonists follow their Arthurian quest pursued by deadly enemies. For lovers of Arthurian romance and for admirers of Tolkien and Lewis, this is indeed a dream come true!

Joseph Pearce, Author, Tolkien: Man and Myth

A highly engaging historical mystery adventure that brings C.S. Lewis and his friends and ideas to life. Fans of Lewis and Tolkien will love it. I couldn't put it down!

Peter J. Schakel, Author, The Way into Narnia and Imagination and the Arts in C.S. Lewis

The subtitle of this book is "An Inklings Novel." That claim might seem presumptuous at first. But lo — it is an Inklings novel. My own guess is that Lewis, Tolkien, and Williams would all be mightily pleased with it. All three of them, as it happens, figure as characters in the story, which is Arthurian, but set in the contemporary world — very much in the vein of That Hideous Strength and War in Heaven. The Inklings themselves are flawlessly depicted, as are the two protagonists, a very appealing young man and woman. All Inklings lovers will be highly delighted.

Thomas Howard, Author, Narnia and Beyond

Steeped in Arthurian lore, the mystery of the grail legends, and World War II intrigue, this engaging tale of a young man's search for a hidden relic ultimately uncovers treasure of a far different kind. David Downing's homage to C.S. Lewis, J.R.R. Tolkien and Charles Williams succeeds masterfully in bringing these historical figures to life in the midst of an unfolding spiritual thriller. This is a beguiling and enjoyable read — laced throughout with romance, wry humor and questions of eternal consequence.

Marjorie Lamp Mead, Associate Director, The Marion E. Wade Center, Wheaton College

The Author

David C. Downing, PhD, is the R.W. Schlosser Professor of English at Elizabethtown College in Pennsylvania. He is the author of four award-winning books on C.S. Lewis: Planets in Peril, The Most Reluctant Convert, Into the Region of Awe: Mysticism in C.S. Lewis, and Into the Wardrobe: C.S. Lewis and the Narnia Chronicles. Downing has also written short fiction for Christianity Today and other periodicals. Read more